Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR):

Earning your certification is a big step.  Maintaining it shouldn't have to be.  The PMI Global Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) Program is designed so you can grow and develop the skills that organizations are seeking — all the while maintaining your certification status.


What are PDUs?

Professional Development Units (PDUs) are one-hour blocks of time that you spend learning, teaching others, or volunteering. By accumulating and tracking these over a three-year period you can maintain your certification status with PMI. View how you can earn PDUs and how to align them to the PMI Talent Triangle®.


PMI Talent Triangle®

The ideal skill set — the PMI Talent Triangle® — is a combination of technical, leadership, and strategic and business management expertise — and now, digital skills.

What this means to project and program talent — what this means to you — is a focus on developing the additional skills you need to meet the evolving demands of your profession. But in doing so, it also means new opportunities to elevate your value as a strategic partner in business success.

In our professional reality of technological disruption, organizations need project leaders with the ability to learn and keep pace with technology. As shown in the graphic, we have added a new digital overlay to the PMI Talent Triangle to emphasize how digital transformation is impacting every aspect of our work.

Find out more details on the allocation of PDUs to the various areas of the talent triangle: PDU 101

PDU Requirements:

Our certifications require you to earn a certain number of PDUs over a 3-year cycle. For example, if you hold a Project Management Professional (PMP)® Certification, to maintain it, you’ll need to earn 60 PDUs; while others, like the Agile Certified Professional (PMI-ACP)® require 30. View the breakdown and requirements by certification.


Renew Your Certification:

If you've already begun to earn PDUs and want to get the renewal process started, learn about the Continuing Certification Requirements System — an easy-to-use online tool for reporting your PDUs.

Registered PDUs (Professional Development Units) are required by PMI to maintain your certification.  This can be achieved through monthly chapter meetings, lunch and learn events, seminars, and other volunteer opportunities.  Find out more details on the allocation